karma | the law of cause and effect


karma bad karma karma in english karma is real karma hinduism 12 laws of karma karma dharma prarabdha karma karma sadhguru laws of karma karma buddhism karma will get you krama yoga nishkam karma nishkama karma karma in arabic karma is sadhguru karma karma sucha karma bitlife bitlife karma west coast karma karma 7 karma spells prarabdha karmayoga karma and dharma the karma tandava karma karma 3 karma by sadhguru sanchita karma karma is a karma 1 karma 2 karma water flavors karma cards good karma tarot karma water near me karma number karma sutras sadhguru agami karma karmaandluck kaffe karma tantra karma karma kava narcissist karma karma and reincarnation karmapa thaye dorje karma online the good karma tarot past life karma karma good karma tarot my sleeping karma atma karma in english synonyms circle of karma karma is coming karma near me karma xx killing a snake karma bad karma examples karma examples the laws of karma karma yoga the yoga of action capricorn karma karma 13 positive karma sanchit karma karma yoga hinduism negative karma karmic healing kriyamana karma ancestral karma my lucky karma karma astrology karma shack thaye dorje karma and luck tree of life karma in jainism yeshe rabgye past life karma in natal chart sun in 12th house past life carkarma nishkam karma yoga dear karma miscarriage karma good karma examples karma yoga swami vivekananda karma yoga examples a karma karma day spa power of karma in relation to destiny karma pakshi karmie karma lekshe tsomo karma lingpa i love karma buddha and karma examples of karma in hinduism karma revenge scorpio 12th house past life kamma buddhism 7 laws of karma osho on karma reincarnation and karma edgar cayce the circle of karma karma bhoomi 5 laws of karma karma cats lucky karma karma dharma and moksha karma m generational karma past life karma vedic astrology kriyamana karma 12 mortimer's christmas manger life is karma karma isn t real good and bad karma karma scorpion 2022 collective karma karma kards karma and karma pendant karma lane karma and the killjoys soul karma


In Hinduism, the belief in the law of Karma, or Action, is fundamental. It asserts that every good thought, word, or deed has a corresponding reaction that affects our future lives. Similarly, unkind thoughts or evil actions bring harm to us either in this life or the next.

The Three Stages of Karma:

1. Prarabdha Karma: This stage suggests that the body and circumstances in which the soul is born are beyond human control. They depend on the collective impact of favorable and unfavorable actions performed in previous lives. The time of death is also determined by this karma. If one's time on Earth is not yet complete, they cannot die regardless of circumstances. However, when the appointed time draws near, nothing can prevent it.

2. Samchita Karma: This stage encompasses the accumulated karma from past lives, which influences our characteristics and aptitudes. It is subject to change, allowing individuals to improve their habits, eliminate negative thoughts, and overcome desires. Even a virtuous person can deviate from the right path.

3. Agami Karma: This stage comprises the actions performed in the present life, determining both our future in this life and the next.

Nishkama Karma: The Ideal Action:

The ideal form of karma is Nishkama Karma, performed as a duty toward God or humanity without seeking any rewards. It involves self-control, detachment from worldly attachments, and mastery over one's senses. The Bhagavad Gita states, "The self-controlled person, moving among objects, with his senses free from attachment and malevolence and brought under his own control, attains tranquility." (Bhagavad Gita II.64)

Understanding Karma:

Karma is an integral part of Hindu philosophy and embodies the law of cause and effect. It can be defined as the sum of an individual's actions in their successive states of existence, which ultimately shape their fate. The Sanskrit term "karma" refers to volitional actions undertaken deliberately or knowingly. It emphasizes self-determination, willpower, and the avoidance of inactivity. Karma distinguishes human beings from other creatures in the world.

The Natural Law:

The theory of karma aligns with Newton's principle that every action produces an equal and opposite reaction. Every thought or action we engage in creates a cause that will yield corresponding effects in due time. This cyclical cause-and-effect process gives rise to the concepts of samsara (the world) and birth and reincarnation. The karma of an individual, influenced by their positive and negative actions, shapes their destiny.

Individual Responsibility:

According to Hinduism, every person bears responsibility for their own acts and thoughts, making their karma entirely their own. While some may perceive karma as fatalistic, it is crucial to recognize that individuals have the power to shape their own future through their present actions.

Three Types of Karma:

Based on the chosen way of life, karma can be classified into three types:

1. Satvik Karma: This selfless action benefits others without attachment to personal gains.

2. Rajasik Karma: This selfish action prioritizes personal gains and ambition.

3. Tamasik Karma: This action is undertaken without considering the consequences and is driven by extreme selfishness and brutality.

The Discipline of Unattached Action:

Scriptures recommend the practice of unattached action (Nishkâma Karma) as a means to attain salvation of the soul. It advises individuals to carry out their duties in life with detachment. Lord Krishna states in the Bhagavad Gita, "Attachment arises from contemplating the objects of the senses; from attachment, longing is born; from longing, anger arises. From anger comes delusion, and from delusion,

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post

Contact Form